How to Get Clear on Your Career Goals

Plus: Zelda blows it out of the water

This is an IT Support Group
Weekly IT Roundup 🤠

Now 100% not-written with AI! ™

Happy No Deploy Friday, IT Professional!

I’m writing this one from my basement and drinking a Simply Spiked Peach (not sponsored)

I’m ready for Friday afternoon to roll around so I can play the new Zelda, Tears of the Kingdom. It’s great. 🧝‍♀️🗡️🛡️

In today’s newsletter, we’ve got a powerhouse of Tech News to hit ya with.

Be sure to scroll down to read today’s 5 Minute Career Advice — today’s topic?

Imposter Syndrome.

Getting clear on your Career Goals.

Oops. The newsletter edition of this post said imposter syndrome! We’ll save that one.

Lastly, can I ask a favor?

We’re doing deep research on how to create the most high value community in the world for IT professionals.

Would you mind taking a brief survey? 🙏

It’d mean the world.

Enjoy your Friday!

-Stetson

Tech News TL;DR

This week’s IT and tech news in 5 minutes or less

Cyber-Security

Business & Economy

New Zelda Sells 10 Million Copies in 3 Days (we’re playing it on our breaks)

Artificial Intelligence

Miscellaneous

Sponsored

How about them apples? 🍎 🖥️

N‑able is rapidly adding capabilities and features, expanding the options for Mac admins, and making it easier for MSPs to add Apple hardware to their fleets.

Join Head Mac Nerd Joseph Ferla as he showcases what’s new and answers your questions about managing, monitoring, and automating all things Mac.

IT Support Meme of the Week

Another two-fer this week! 🤜 💥

The Cloud Runs on Linux ☁️

Looking to start a career in cloud built on AWS, Azure or GCP?

Linux is gonna be essential.

My new e-book on Linux is a great way to level up your Linux Skills!

Community Highlights

This week’s top posts from This is an IT Support Group

Working in my boxers has never hurt my career

A Cry For Help 😢

Dear IT Professional and Friend:

I've been hearing from our audience that people are interested in advancing their career, but they're not exactly sure how.

I’ve been insanely blessed and successful in my own career and so I want to find the best way to help IT professionals thrive in their careers.

We’re committed to doing deep research on how to create the most high value community in the world for IT professionals.

Would you take a short 5-minute survey to help me out?

Tech Support Gore of the Week 🕸️ 🕷️

Hope you enjoyed last week’s 5 minute career advice. It’s back.

5 Minute Career Advice ⏱️👨‍💼

This week’s topic is a strategy I’ve used to land my dream job, make better decisions about where to work and

It’s what I’ve deemed an Employment Thesis.

I came up with this idea in 2019 after hearing about how investors would create a “thesis” or document on types of companies they wanted to invest in.

I work for companies, so I should probably make smart decisions on who to work for if I’m to invest my time well.

I don’t even know if I’m using the word thesis right. Doesn’t matter — call it whatever you want.

Here’s how it works.

Open a google doc or grab a pen.

Make a few headings:

  • Companies I want to work for

  • Industries I want to work in

  • Companies I don’t want to work for

  • Industries I don’t want to work in

  • Job Titles I want to explore and skills needed

Under Companies you want to work for, fill in companies that you’d love to work at. Your dream company. Be very specific and list the reasons you think you want to work there.

Then, do the same for industries — maybe you’d write Aerospace, Ticket Sales.

Continue down the list, Companies you don’t want to work for and why you don’t.

Then, industries.

Having trouble? If you don’t know what type of company you want to work for, then try the principle of inversion.

Write down where you don’t want to work and why and invert it. What’s the complete opposite of the insurance industry? What’s the complete opposite of the reasons you don’t want to work there? Maybe you have to wear a suit, then your want list would include something like “relaxed dress code”

I’ve never done this before, but below is a screenshot from my own personal investment thesis:

In fact, yolo!

Here’s a direct link to my employment thesis. Unedited and yours for the viewing.

I write like an annoying millennial in my notes, using phrases like “interesting af” and “sick”, so you’ll have to forgive me.

Sometimes knowing what you want is the hardest part of all.

I love the employment thesis because it’s helped me to become more introspective and get crystal clear on what I want.

It’s can also be a great conversation starter in interviews.

I hope that if you choose to use an employment thesis that it lets you get more concrete on your goals. Use it, modify it, transform it.

The world is your oyster. 🦪

Should I write 5-minute career advice again next week?

Tell me. 👇

Should we keep doing 5 minute career-advice?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Share This Newsletter, Get Cool Sh*t

Hey Kid — Want some swag?

Share this newsletter with some friends who’d like it.

Get enough referrals and we’ll send you cool stuff like stickers, shirts and hoodies!

We’re clothing the nerds one shirt at a time. Truly doing God’s work. /s

Your link is below:

What did you think of this week's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

This week’s issue was brought to you by Stetson Blake from my basement

not sponsored by Simply but we could be

See ya!

-Stetson

ITSG Founder